Home Chat Race Chat

Stratfod Tri

trudgertrudger Posts: 61
Does anybody have any tips/comments about the Stratford Tri on the 14th May.

I am a complete novice to tri's (previously a keen but not very fast 10K runner). Hoping to use this as a learning experiance and set a starting PB for future events.

Is this a well organised event that a newcomer will not find daunting/intimidating?

any advice appreciated.[:)]

Comments

• loonytoonloonytoon Posts: 673
    Hi Trudger..

I don't have anything for you at the minute but I am planning to recce the bike ride and will look at the sportes centre as well this weekend...will let you know Monday..

what time are you off?

Ian

• fatmattfatmatt Posts: 145
    hi,

i live quite close to stratford and did the race last year, to be honest i wasn't that impressed, the pool is quite nice, being 33 metres, but there was it was a little busy in there on race day, it is the biggest pool based tri in the country i think so bound to be hectic in the pool, transition is ok,

the bike is fairly flat and fast, the first 8ish miles are very fast with only a few small undulations, at around mile 8 there is one hill, not too steep and about a mile lonjg, this is up a busy dual carriageway but not too bad, after that it's more or less all down hill with a flat mile or two to finish, i did the route yesterday in 40 mins, and its about 14.5 miles, think my average was just under 21mph.

the run, this is over a field and along the river bank, again very congested with runners using the riverbank track in both directions, you have to run up and down the river 2or 3 times i think.

as for the organisation that was excellent as always, really friendly and proffessional and also a lot of retailers there too.

it's a good first time race i think but i'm not convinced i'd do it twice, maybe as it's only down the road and most of my club do it.