Home Chat General Chat

Protien Shake- Do You Use It Does It Work?

Hi

Alot of athletes in my class at collage have just started taking protien shakes/Musele building shakes to try and bulk up and get stronger for their sports. I was wondering if there is use in me using them as a triathlete/ cylcist? will it make me faster or will it just make me bigger

Andy

Comments

• TommiTriTommiTri Posts: 879
    Hi mate,

right i have a couple of questions for you, are you weight training? and how old are you? The reason I ask if because you don't really need protein shakes if you are not weight training, and also I don't think anyone under 18 should ever be lifting heavy weights because the bones and joints are not fully formed, so you could do yourself some real damage, I'm a doctor btw so i know my stuff!

Ok back to the protein. Protein shakes are best used if you are weight training, as they provide high quality whey protein, which is very quickly absorbed, when you body needs it. So I take mine 20 mins before training, and about 30 mins afterwards. I probably don't need both of these, but I prefer to be safe ( so i have enough protein in my system so I dont actually loose muscle). If you are doing heavy weights protein shakes are essential for bulking up, as regular solid proteins such as meats require a longer period to break down, so are not going to be as available to your muscles as a shake taken just before the workout. You will also need to take some carbs with the shakes, not too much on the one before, as you dont want to be bloated for you workout, but you should have had some slow release carbs about 2 hrs before anyway. But something with a high glycaemic index is required post exercise, this will cause the insulin reflex, due to the sharp rise in blood sugar, and insulin is essential for building new muscle, as it is insulin which sends those amino acids into the muscle.