Home Chat General Chat

Training for 108 mile bike ride - advice needed, please

Help, please!

My company has come up with the idea of a 'team-building' exercise which is a 108 mile bike ride from the Midlands to Norfolk. There will be a support vehicle, and the plan is to cycle in pairs. You can stop as often as you like, and hitch a lift in the car if all else fails. It's not meant to be a race(!). It takes place on Fri 29 Sept (day off work, at least!)

My longest bike ride ever is 60 miles, back in June before the 70.3 (also my longest race). I did 33 last week, and hope to fit in 50 this week. But I have no experience of beyond 60, and won't be able to fit another long ride in before the day.

So does anyone have any advice on longer bike rides? On nutrition, comfort (or lack of it!), on what to do, what to avoid (apart from falling off, which I'm a bit prone to do).

I'll be riding with a guy who is much fitter, faster and more experienced than me, but at least he doesn't mind waiting for me. However it is essential that I beat my husband, who is riding in another pair!

Any advice??

Thanks

Comments

• Pacrfish

Don't RACE it, imagine what it was like at Wimbleball and double it. Adopt the most comfortable position on your bike not the most agressive remember this will take you a complete working day! maybe 6-7 hours.

Use your gears a lot don't "go for the burn" up the hills, if you feel good in the second half you can up the nwork rate.

You will need to take on food and not just gels, depending on how well you can eat on your bike you could just relax and keep riding or stop for a break to eat. Are there going to be defined stop points on the route? Will the support vehicle be with you? If you stop you will find the first 5-10 minutes afterwards hard to get to grips with, keep warm and move around. I have done 100m in 5 hours on 2 Mars bars a banana and 1 bottle of water, but i wouldn't go that fast now and i would need more to drink and eat.

Good luck