Home› Chat› General Chat

Beginner/Intermediate Training Schedule

hi all - newbie here whos going to 'attempt' to do a OT in August here in Ireland.

Been training since Jan (mainly cardio running and weights - and done a 10km and half marathon just in prep to drop a bit of weight to start proper Tri training (lost nearly 2stone!)) but starting swimming this week (got a couple of lessons booked to kick me off as Im not a v strong swimmer) and getting a bike tomorrow with any luck and start asap on it.

Just wondering has anyone got or got links to a good training schedule for beginner/intermediate?

Thanks in advance all

(Oh and just subscribed to 220 yesterday!)

Cheers

GaryDee

Comments

• ardkeenardkeen Posts: 152
    Hi,

You could try beginnertriathlete website dont' have the exact address but just google beginnertriathlete and they have free programs. I'm based in West Cork, what about you, where's the tri in Aug? . Good luck with the training.

Ardkeen

• garydee77garydee77 Posts: 63
    Cheers ardkeen!

Looking at that now...

Thanks for the reply - I thought for a bit that I'd posted a stupid question and everyone was ignoring it - perhaps I have, but forgive me as alot of information is flooding my head recently - types of bike, prices, specs, swim lessons, etc...

Just want to make sure I'm doing enough of each disipline each week - have set myself 3 of each per wk with a long run and long bike in that - along with 2 weight workouts if I have time.

Just wanted some info on distances, techniques, buildup to the event - for a schedule!

The Tri is at Ballyronan in Co. Derry - I live just 15miles away in Tyrone - so not too bad.

Hoping to enter a sprint tri 3-4 weeks before that also for the experience.

Website for the main OT Im gonna attempt to do is : [color=#008000]www.loughneaghtri.com[/color]

[color=#008000][/color]

[color=#000000]Cheers for the pointer again! :)[/color]

[color=#000000][/color]

[color=#000000]G[/color]