Home Chat General Chat

Training shirts - nipple chaffing

Hi

This may sound very strange, but as a newbie, I thought I put this one out there in the hope that someone has the same problem. I used to train (Run/Spin and brick in the gym) wearing a normal t-shirt. However, my nipples used to chaff quite badly. I thought that it was the fabric and went out and spent a small fortune on new excercise specific, easy breate, light weight, climate controlled type shirts. The problem has not gone away. With me stepping up my programme, this is becoming a hinderance. Does anyone have the same problem and/or suggestions?

Thanks

Comments

• BritspinBritspin Posts: 1,655
    nope. but I suspect a dab of vaseline or the easy glide stuff for feet &/or wetsuit on & offing (?) might do the trick.
  • I can't run for more than about 30 mins without bleeding nipples so I always have to put plasters over 'em. Painful when I forget ....
  • TommiTriTommiTri Posts: 879
    By wearing the t-shirt before you have probabily sensitized your nipples, so now they start to hurt with the slightest bit of rubbing. As the others suggested it may be worth trying some sort of lubricant like wetsuit lube or vasaline, or resort to plasters. I think once you have done this for a while you should be able to wear your running top without your nipples hurting. If not, you may just have over-sensitive nipples!

If it gets really bad and the lubes/plasters dont work, you could always try a dab of local anaesthetic such as emla cream, this should do the trick! its best if the skins not broken though.

Tom
  • priceda1priceda1 Posts: 7
    Kenjonessa,

Vasaline is my hero (well one of them).