Home Chat General Chat

Other training....

mgs76mgs76 Posts: 10
I'm in my first year of triathlon and have three sprint events scheduled for August/September this year, starting with London then Seaford, then Crawley.

My background is mostly in running, predominantly half marathons and 10k events. However, due to a niggling knee injury I started cross-training last year, which has ultimately led me to triathlon.

I'm interested in other cross training activities that other triathletes get up to, or do most people find that training for 3 events takes up all of their time? Would anyone drop a couple of triathlong specific training sessions to add in another sport/activity?

I started kung fu/ tai chi classes around 6 months ago and on average I do around two and a half hours of each per week. I have found that my fitness, strength and flaxibility levels have increased significantly to the point where I have gone from having a PB in half marathon of 1:44:43 to 1:29:32 - my 10k time has also improved drastically in training.

Cheers,

Mark.

Comments

• jazdogjazdog Posts: 223
    Hi Mark,

Thats some improvement in half marathon time...

The only "other training" I do is walking the dog about three miles a day in the woods... I know a lot of people say yoga's supposed to be good for tri as it gives you the flexibility needed to prevent injury... I guess Tai chi and Kung fu will do similar things...

I just don't have the time for any other training at the moment..

jazdog
  • loonytoonloonytoon Posts: 673
    I find that tri takes up all my time...though I do indoor climb once a week as well which certainly beats the weights room...

I have always (though this is my first season at tri) found I feel like I am neglecting a tri discipline if I replace it with a cross training activity....

As far as cross training goes though indoor rowing is pretty good as it works the whole body and is low impact. Same as the "cross trainer" machine...

• guv001guv001 Posts: 227