Home Chat General Chat

new beginner

hi peeps

i am doing my first triathlon on the 22nd June 2008 at Ongar Leisure Centre the Try-A-Tri all i know is that it is 12 lenths of the the pool then a 13 mile bike ride and a 2 mile run the only thing i am scared about it that my swimming is ok as i do it alot but i have never ran before since i was 16 which i am now 28 so i was wondering if you could give me some trainning ideas for this. plus i am also worrying about getting out of the pool onto the bike as i have never done this before and was wondering what tips you could give me?

any tips and feed back would be grateful

[color=#990099]SHANY XXXX[/color]

[color=#990099][/color]

[:(][:o][X(][&o][:-]

Comments

• Hi.

I had the same fears of the unknown, when I started 4 years ago. I think most people find the transition from bike to run the most difficult. Swimming was always my worst discipline, but I found swim to bike OK. The only time I struggled, was my first attempt, when I did breast stroke. This took a lot out of my legs on the bike. If running is your weakness, you need to practice bike to run (a brick session) it could be a massive shock on the day, if you havent tried this.

Graham.
  • BopomofoBopomofo Posts: 980
    Pool to bike should be no trouble. Just remember that you are lying flat when you are swimming, so suddenly standing up and running for your bike can make you go a bit faint, especially if you have been trying really hard. Next time you swim try doing a fast 4 or 6 lengths, then jumping out immediately and standing up or walking to the other end of the pool. See if it affects you.

zig is right: going from bike to run can really hurt. I did that without any practice in my first tri and I was really shocked. It is worth getting some practice in beforehand, you might not get used to it, but at least it won't be a surprise.

Make sure you get some running in beforehand. Just stick to 30min sessions for now, maybe 2 or 3 times a week.