Home Chat General Chat

Carbon bike for a newbie?

Hello, newbie here looking to buy my first bike for London triathlon in August. A lot of the buying advice I've seen for newbies is to get a decent entry level bike such as the SCR 2.0 or Spesh Allez but if I stretched a little more I could probably get a carbon bike such as the Focus Cayo 2007 which I've seen for around £750. My question is for a newbie who haven't cycled for over 20 years, will getting a lighter carbon bike really make that much of a difference in terms of speed? Would it be better to improve my cycling ability before upgrading to a better bike? Appreciate any advice from you knowledgable lot.

Comments

• mike_trimike_tri Posts: 60
    if i was you i'd go for a cheaper non-carbon bike as my first. Of course you will go faster on a carbon bike but it's a lot of money if decide that after all tri isn't for you. It would probably be easier to practice bike handaling skills on a slower non-carbon bike as well. Hope this helps
  • tripetripe Posts: 4
    Thanks Mike_tri. So a carbon bike would definitely be faster. I appreciate it's hard to put a figure on something like this but what would you say the percentage increase of speed would be? I guess I'm pretty sure I will be continuing with this triathlon malarki so my concern is that I'll regret not getting the best bike I could afford. If the advantage was small however I would probably go for the cheaper SCR2, use for a couple of years and then get a higher end bike when I've saved up more.