Home Buy Triathlon Gear

the NSPCC big 5

My background is relatively simple I spent some 7 years in the forces before becoming a psychiatric nurse . I have always maintained active & in good physical health. Unfortuantely I suffered with reactive depression last year which led to some 3 1/2 months absence from work. In an attempt to over come this along with suport from my GP & work I undertook to train for a triathlon as a means of direction and acheivement. [/align] [/align]Thereby I began training in January of this year, I found it challenging but began to make some progress more so after joining my local club (Warrington Tri) which gave a better sense of formation and also of ability to undertake a sprint tri. This over time increased to a point whereby I am now entered for the following triathlons[/align] [/align]Cheshire Sprint Tri (04/06/06)[/align]Chester Olympic Tri (25/06/06)[/align]Salford Sprint Tri (30/07/06)[/align]London Olympic Tri (06/08/06)[/align]Warrington Sprint Tri (26/08/06)[/align] [/align]The training especially the swim (as had negelected my front crawl for some 25 years) required I apply myself with consistency increasing my level and frequency of training and practise from only a few hours to that of around 15 - 20 hours a week. From this I now aim to undertake training towards 1/2 ironman next season[/align] [/align]As a direct result of the training including the support of Warrington Tri Club amongst others I have regained my sense of acheivement and motivation as well not just massively enhanced physical fitness but also that off mental & emotional well being to enable to return to work.