Home Chat General Chat

I'm new to this....

Can anyone help? I'm competing in my first triathlon a week Sunday. I have most of the kit including the Trisuit but do I need a racebelt? The race instructions say that if you use a racebelt then your number needs to be on the back for the bike and the front for the run. Alternatively, the number needs to be pinned to both front and back if not using a racebelt. Now this may sound like a stupid question and probably is, but if pinning them to the suit I asume they are there for the swim? Also, can anyone suggest a good energy gel?

Comments

• gaterz1981gaterz1981 Posts: 233
    Pin numbers together, then onto race belt (so if it blows up in wind number can still be seen) then leave it out in transition. Just turn it to face front after bike section. You'll get numbers drawn on you for the swim. other then that you'll have to pin to a t-shirt which will lose you time.

number belt, elastic laces. thats all that matters [;)]
  • BopomofoBopomofo Posts: 980
    Hey CT! Welcome, and good luck in your event!

gaterz got it perfectly correct with the belt advice. Do not attempt to pin the numbers to your tri suit and swim with them on. Get a race belt (less than £5) and practice putting it on. I put mine on with the number at front because it feels easier doing the clip up behind me for some reason, then I spin it round (number at back) for the bike, and spin it again (number at front) for the run.

Energy Gel? Too late to try something new, I would think. What distance are you doing? If it is Olympic, then you can survive using sports drinks on the bike (like Lucozade Sport) and in your transition box, with a banana in the box to back it up. If a sprint or super-sprint you shouldn't need more than water or sports drink.