Home Chat General Chat

1st ironman - 1st tri

ianpianp Posts: 5
Hi...i have entered the imuk 08 having never done a tri before....(only ever done marathons and multi day bike rides)....im using the go long and easy style of training...im up to 3k swimming, 90mins running and completed the dorset 100 a couple of weeks ago (oh the pain of those hills)....am i at the stage i should be at or should i up the distance/hours.....im averaging about 13hrs a week...

any confidence boosters or advice please....ianp

Comments

• SamutriSamutri Posts: 143
    Hi Ianp, firstly, can I check that its 08 you're doing not 09??

If its 08 then i would say... holy sweet mother of christ man, are you mental?? [:D]

Although you are clearly very fit, doing an IM without ever having done a tri before is a mammoth undertaking, especially given the time available.

To explain: I have been running marathons for nearly 20 years and got into tri's about 7 years ago, gradually building up the distance.

Believe me when I tell you that even a short distance tri is a serious test when compared to a single discipline event.

I am doing my 1st IM this year in Austria, having done IMUK 70.3 last year and I still don't think I'm ready for it! I train twice a day - 3k swims, 15-20 mile runs and cycles between 75 and 120 miles. (Yep, I don't have a life!)

I really don't mean to demoralise you; just want you to know the full horror that awaits you!

• ianpianp Posts: 5
    Hi Samutri,

Yep thanks for that...i thought it was a big jump....im just trying to get around and am expecting to feel pain like i have never felt before....i guess thats why im doing it...the mental challenge....

anyway thanks for the reality check...best get on my bike this weekend...
  • SamutriSamutri Posts: 143
    In that case, sounds like you're taking the right approach: watch your pace, especially if there's a crowd of people as you will naturally want to put on a burst of speed!