Home Chat General Chat

Any sage-like advice for Triathlon newbies?

Hi all

Well, I've taken the plunge and started triathlon training.... I can run quite well, swim very badly and haven't even got onto moving bike yet - agh!

Do any of you triathlon gurus have any advice for a complete novice? What I mean is, is there anything you wished someone had told you right at the beginning...?

Thanking you...

Maggie

Comments

• Have fun doing it! Don't try an compete against anyone else as you are doing this for your own personal best time. Something I was never told that although tri is very friendly and supportive before and after the event, the event itself can be very lonely! If there is no-one to watch you, then no-one will clap you in, or cheer for you on the way round. It has nowhere near the cameraderie that running has! All said, it is great, and you will be amazed at your increased confidence. Another top tip - do an open water course!

Have fun!!
  • BritspinBritspin Posts: 1,655
    Beware the rubber legs...
  • maggietmaggiet Posts: 3
    Thanks cottontail for the advice, I've been really impressed by how friendly people have been at training sessions, and you're right, to be fit and have fun is the best reason to do it - I'll remember your advice when I'm racing (if I ever get there!) and thanks Britspin, I've heard about the legendary 'rubber legs' when you start running after the cycle so I'll take it nice and slow, and maybe keep my helmet on incase I topple over!