Home Chat General Chat

How many Tri's per year

This is my first year at Triathlon, Ive completed 1 super sprint (400m/20k/4k?) with an Olympic dist at the begining of July and One in September.

I want to concentrate on The Olympic distance races but am unsure how many events to do a year - 1 a month? I am also aware of doing races for race practice with certain events your priority races throughout the year, for example should I slip in a couple of 'unimportant' sprints between the olympic races I want to be competative in - just for transition and race day prep??

Any advice would be appreciated.

Also I am on a 5yr old(ish) Airborne (alu) with ultegra - when do you think it would be worth upgrading to a Carbon race machine, i can the use this as a winter/training bike (i notice a few of you have multiple bike options). Do you think its best to chuck some new wheels on my AB and gradually upgrade the kit/or start with some nice SRAM red and keep the old wheels....

Comments

• I can't really comment on the bikes but, regarding the number of races, I'd pick 2 or 3 races that you really want to excel in and then pad them out with another 4 or 5 shorter/less important races that you can use to hone your technique and to work out how hard you can push. I wouldn't recommend concentrating on just one big race, simply because you'll feel absolutely gutted if injury or some other event makes you miss it. I had that problem with the London Triathlon last year when I managed to injure myself the day before the race (I'd even racked my bike :-( ). The easier/shorter races are great for morale and for keeping up your motivation as your times start to fall. You can also do them without tapering or otherwise disrupting your training programme (i.e. treat them as training sessions).