Home Chat General Chat

chatting to other competitors?

I haven't done a tri yet - still in "training".

My background is MTB where on large group rides you often have chance to chat with other folk on a fireroad climb for example. I'm not a competitive sort - will be happy just to finish.

So is it OK to chat (on the bike or run, prob not a good idea on the swim ;-))? or is it frowned upon?

Comments

• I doubt you'll get a chance. You can't draft on the bike, so that pretty much rules out any chatting on that leg as you'd have to yell at each other from 7m away... By the time you reach the run you'll probably all be too knackered to want a conversation. That said, although talking during the race is probably a non-runner (I've certainly never had a conversation), people tend to be very friendly and happy to chat in the Transition area before and after the race begins.
  • TommiTriTommiTri Posts: 879
    That was pretty much what I was going to say! Im sure you will get a pretty decent conversation with the guy toweling down in T1 and when he's putting his socks on and tying his laces in T2! But not on the course, even us non-competitive athletes cant talk on the course! Not because noone wants to, I go jogging with a mate sometimes and love running and chatting, distracts me! But I will be too bloody knackered on the run to take, and as Tiring says no close riding allowed on the bike! unless you like penalties!
  • BopomofoBopomofo Posts: 980
    I find things are pretty much limited to sharing encouraging comments with other athletes. For example, if you're on the run in and somebody is on the run out looking like they are about to die, then a quick "Keep going!" or "Well done!" doesn't do any harm.