Home Chat General Chat

the NSPCC big 5 tri

Calling all try-athletes !!!!!!!! you have been amaxing giving out advice and information as I have crawled my way throuhg some 3 months of pre-season training but I though it was time I revealed myself for who I am .....

My background is relatively simple I spent some 7 years in the forces before becoming a psychiatric nurse . I have always maintained active & in good physical health. Unfortuantely I suffered with reactive depression last year which led to some 3 1/2 months absence from work. In an attempt to over come this along with suport from my GP & work I undertook to train for a triathlon as a means of direction and acheivement.

[/align]

[/align]Thereby I began training in January of this year, I found it challenging but began to make some progress more so after joining my local club (Warrington Tri) which gave a better sense of formation and also of ability to undertake a sprint tri. This over time increased to a point whereby I am now entered for the following triathlons

[/align]

[/align]Cheshire Sprint Tri (04/06/06)

[/align]Chester Olympic Tri (25/06/06)

[/align]Salford Sprint Tri (30/07/06)

[/align]London Olympic Tri (06/08/06)

[/align]Warrington Sprint Tri (26/08/06)

[/align]

[/align]The training especially the swim (as had negelected my front crawl for some 25 years) required I apply myself with consistency increasing my level and frequency of training and practise from only a few hours to that of around 15 - 20 hours a week. From this I now aim to undertake training towards 1/2 ironman next season

[/align]

[/align]As a direct result of the training including the support of Warrington Tri Club & the 220 forum amongst others I have regained my sense of acheivement and motivation as well not just massively enhanced physical fitness but also that off mental & emotional well being to enable to return to work.

[/align]