Home Chat General Chat

number of strokes per breath

Just wonderd whether anyone has any view on the optimum number of strokes per breath. I have been taking a breath every 4 strokes but whilst watching the Windsor Tri on the telly I noticed that the elite athletes were taking one on every stroke. Having tried this in the pool it felt quite clumsy, what are the advantages of taking more breaths per stroke? Is it worth persevering with?

Comments

• gaterz1981gaterz1981 Posts: 233
    They do every stroke because of the effort/oxygen their body is using. Stick to whatever you feel best with. Also you will notice that sometimes they aint lifting the head to get air, the are lifting it to look ahead to remain in correct race line.
  • legalbeaglelegalbeagle Posts: 208
    Hi there,

I'm no expert but generally I breathe every third - this suits my pace and I can maintain it for a good length of time, however, that's unless I'm really pushing it and "sprinting" flat out at the end then I go for every second.

I often chose every second in rough open water so I can breathe away from the waves and it helps me to reduce motion sickness, which I really struggle with.

The reason you often see the elites breathing every second stroke is that at that pace, you need more oxygen and you don't get enough if you breathe every 3rd or 4th. Rick Kiddles open water DVD (the freebie that we all got with a recent issue of 220) covers this pretty well.

Personally I'd say go with what feels comfortable for you and what works. Youknow what they say - if it ain't broke.....
  • TommiTriTommiTri Posts: 879
    personally I stick with 1 breath every 2 strokes.

I do breath on every stroke sometimes while training, but this is more to ensure that I'm rolling my body enough on each stroke, as I used to have a tendency to not role my body enough on the side that I'm not breathing on.