Home Chat General Chat

Running beginner advice

I'm new to tri - have my first one in August...

And I'm not a good runner - I have a membership with local leisure centre and have access to the running track - have done a few 4000m jogging sessions but am wondering about technique. I did a couple of 100m sprints today - followed by a jog back. And I noticed that when trying to run fast my body leans forward almost to the point of falling over - on the jog i'm more upright...

Any runners care to share technique tips?

My event is a 5k run (after 600m swim and 20k bike).

Comments

• transittransit Posts: 163
    That is a fairly broad subject and is hard to generalise. Due to the nature of triathlon requiring efficient actions alot of research has gone into run technique, I'm not really up to speed with all the details but you could start by looking at something like the Pose Method. A couple of the key principles of this seem to be widely recognised which are high cadence and mid to fore foot strike. The latter means that you are not extending your leg in front of your body in a braking action.

Just a couple of pointers, would read up more on the subject before progressing. Hmm, not sure that is helpful or not??[8D]
  • ZacniciZacnici Posts: 1,385
    My two penneth (shows you how old I am)

First of all it is very easy to damage yourself if you do not have the right shoes so get yourself off down to a proper runninng shop that will analyse your gait on a treadmill and recommend a good shoe. You will pay more but hopefully you will not crippple yourself.