Home Chat General Chat

starting

I'm 14 years old and would like to start training to do triathlons in a few years time. I'm a strongish swimmer, ok at running, and a strong cyclist I try to cycle everday for at least 20 minutes. Could anyone give me tips on when to train and how long and how far to go with each part. I would really apreciate any usefull tips and comments . Iwould also like to know what food should i avoid when training.

Comments

• Jelly legsJelly legs Posts: 278
    First of all why are you not at school.

2 nd, i am new to tri to but

Try and aviod anything that is not good for you, which at your age will be everything you want to eat,

No biscuits, cakes, sweet, chocolate, sugary drinks.

But having said that as long as you eat a healthy balanced diet you will be fine.

Try and limit the above bad foods, eat loads of fruit and veg, lots of chicken and fish.

At your age your still growing so its important to make sure you have alot of calcium( for your bones), so lots and lots and even more milk. when your mates buy coke, buy a pint of milk.

There are absolutly thousands of training tips on the net, but be carefull because they are not all good ones, if your body starts to hurt, listen to it, its the best way to know when your getting into trouble or doing to much.

Rest is as bigger part of training as the training itself.

I'm sure others will give better tips than my limited knowledge but good luck
  • BoycieBoycie Posts: 189
    My advice would be to seriously consider looking to join a triathlon club with a junior section. You should get alot of guidance about training, a good atmosphere to do so in, plus it becomes more sociable and fun. This should help give you some structure to your training.

You will find lists of clubs in your area on the British Triathlon website and they will tell you if they have a junior section.

Best of luck and enjoy the sport.

David.
  • BritspinBritspin Posts: 1,655