Home Chat General Chat

BBC sport website promoting nasty tricks/cheating in Tri????

Hiya guys - just wanted to post this as I'm somewhat disgusted at what I've just read.

Browsing through the Olympic section on the BBC Sport website, reading about the hopefuls for the UK and so on.

Then spot a nice link about 'Triathlon tricks of the trade' - and being a newbie I think "yup that could help me in my first Tri next week, some nice tips and tricks to help me in my first olympic distance event" - so get to reading.

Starts off with all the time-saving tips I've heard before, shoes in bike, one piece suits etc... but as I read on it goes into Nasty tricks to try to put other competitors off and basically ruining their event! Things like purposely kicking people in the HEAD in the water, pulling open their wetsuits mid swim, purposely knocking over their things in transition, mental tricks and so on.

I'll let you read it for yourself with the link below - but I've been led to believe that Triathlon is one of the most friendly sports you can be involved in and my experience to date backs that up - is there any need for young potential triathletes reading this type of CRAP on the BBC website?????????

Sure why not put up an article in the football section on how-to dangerously tackle players from behind or in the cycling section how to get your hands on banned substances and tips on how to evade testing??? Eh? Is anyone else annoyed at this or am I making alot of this.

AND to make matters worse - the date on the article is dated 27th March 2006!! Its been up there 2 and a half years???

I'll let you read for yourself....

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/other_sports/triathlon/4816288.stm

Comments

• TommiTriTommiTri Posts: 879