Home Chat General Chat

Ironman UK

Just wanted to write and say what an amazing experience the Ironman UK event was. I didn't take part as I was there purely to check the event out and cheer some club mates on. I've always proclaimed I am not interested in completing the Ironman distance, mainly because I always thought I wouldn't have a hope in hell of completing it. But watching everyone Sunday was truly inspirational and it reminded me why I started training for triathlon's in the first place.

So congratulations to everyone, you are all truly inspirational...

Comments

• Definately. It must take some serious mental strength as well as physical training to keep going after 18/19 hours.

As we were doing the trudge from the camp site to the carpark 2 miles away, some of the final competitors we just starting their second or final lap of the run. Everyone was still cheering them on and most were in good spirits. I guess once you've got that far it's a case of "just keep moving".

Hats off to thet lot of them!
  • As one of the successful finishers of the IMUK this weekend I'd like to thank you both, and all the others out there who were cheering us on - you make a big difference.
  • bennybenny Posts: 1,314
    How did you guys do at your 'home race'??

Was the weather ok??( cause here it was lousy as hell,pouring rain,lots ofwind).

Let us know how it went, be proud of what you've achieved!! [image]http://forum.220magazine.com/micons/m6.gif[/image][8D]
  • jon_gjon_g Posts: 318
    Have to agree with you amazon, the support from everyone was amazing. i was really struggling onlap 2 and 3 of the run but the crowd kept me going. i am still dumbfounded by the number of supporters there were, and by the fact that they were there for so long. they didnt just wait until the pro's had come past, they were there cheering everyone on and until long after dark. a huge thank you to all the supporters, you were truly amazing[:)]