Home Chat General Chat

Compression socks = revelation

Ok, so I was bored and I just wanted to share my experience with everyone. As i like stories, i shall tell this as a story, are we sitting comfortably?

I went into my local tri shop a few months ago and was having a conversation about compression stuff with a guy who ran the shop. The guy said that although all the 2XU full body stuff was great he strongly suggested I get the 1000 mile compression socks, ah well I've never had problems with me calves, so i think i'll give those a miss thanks.

2 weeks later I started training with the local running club, and based on the fact that I'm not bad over 5k I decided to go with the fast group. Now, the 1st session was ok, intervals of course, but not too bad. I found out that all the people I was running with had done a race 2 days before, hence the easy session. Next session we did a 20k interval session, 1 min on 1 min off! Now i have never done intervals for that far before, and I now understood the meaning of pain. In particular my calves we burning. Cue 2 days of agony as I could barely walk, let alone train, thanks to my calves.

A week later I went running with the club again, this time we did another long interval session, about 20k again, 4 lamp posts on 2 lamp posts off (who the hell came up with the lamp posts idea, they weren't uniformly spaced! ahhh!).

Cue the calf pain again, bugger.

So I went back into the tri shop, I'll have those compression socks please. And wow. No calf pain since, at all. even after a 10k hill session, nothing! As a result I have been able to train longer, harder and have been fresh for training the next day, my 5k time has come down from approx 16:30ish, to a PB on the track last week of 14:45.