Home Chat General Chat

BMI

simple, whats your BMI and do you take any notice of it ?

i am at 26.2 so am overweight.

i have been training for 3 months now for my first event. i have gone down 2 trouser sizes, my fat % has dropped (not measured but visually its obvious) and i am starting to feel great.

then i get my BMI measured and i come out as overweight ?

is it not that anybody who does a decent amount of exersize with a decent muscle base will come out ether at the top of there BMI or even over ?

cooments ?

Comments

• nivaghnivagh Posts: 595

Yes, anybody carrying much muscle will show up as overweight, even obese, on a BMI scale. Body fat measurement using skin fold callipers, or electical resistivity is a better measure.
  • Mines 21.5, but then i am tall and lean.

I work within the nhs, and measure BMI a lot, and i am of the opinion that it is utter crap!!!!

To me its just the lazy way of deciding if someone is overweight. And only works with regular people who don't train!

As you and nivagh have pointed out the big problem is muscle, it weighs a hell of a lot more than fat, and most muscular individuals will come with a lot higher BMI than is representative of their body state.

As nivagh rightly points out, body fat % is a far more applicable way of monitoring progress as far as body composition is concerned. I use a bioelectrical impedance scales, its not terribly accurate, but i monitor that in comparison with my weight to decide how I'm doing.

The best thing you can do is never consider your BMI again!
  • 1st post from a newbie [:)]

25.5 though down from 28.5 since I started training for the London 1/2 in October

It is a bit of a dodgy measure IMHO as people like Olympic sprinters (e.g. Maurice Green) measure obese!
  • I'm stil surprised that BMI is used. I saw a story the other day that according to BMI Australia was the most overweight country in the world.

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/world/article4171160.ece