Home Chat General Chat

Winter training plans - really appreciate any advice

I'm still quite new to triathlons, having only completed two races so far - the Eton Supersprint back in May and last weekend's Orca Sprint. However, I've definitely got the bug and therefore want to train over the winter to be in good shape for next season.

I've researched various training plans online but most seem to be 12-week plans geared towards specific events. What I'd really like to find is a general winter training schedule that includes the right blend of pool, bike, running and weights work to keep me in good shape over the darker months.

Any tips/website links greatly appreciated!

Cheers,

Tom

Comments

• stustu Posts: 28
    glad you posted this, I was about to do the same.

From what I gather the season is about to end. I'm going to join a club next week and try and get some more structured coaching that way, probably in the pool and try and glean as much info as I can about year long training.

I'm from a Personal Training background and familiar with periodisation and base training principles and practices, however I'd be really keen to hear what some of the more experiended triathetes think and recommend.

For instance, I want to compete at Olympic distance, so does base training for that differ from base training or other distances.

• treefrogtreefrog Posts: 1,242
    Miles makes Champions.

Winter training = BORING long slow distance, punctuated with the odd 10kM running race, MTB race etc.

Build your base over the Winter, I go for 3 key sessions per week - 1 hour non-stop swimming, 20km run, 60kM turbo session, 100kM plus cycle with group and what ever else.

One word of warning you can get sucked into becoming a "plodder" and become good and comfortble doing this. Therefore come Spring you must change this programe into one with loads of intervals and upping the ante.

Good luck

• djtvdjtv Posts: 28
    Treefrog. Thanks for the tips for us all.