Home Chat Race Chat

Ironman 2009

Complete beginner - in fact I haven't even started buying the kit yet!

I have been inspired by watching this years Ironman to try and give it a go next year.....no tri experience, but have run half a dozen or so marathons and one 56mile ultra along with a few long ish bike rides (125 mile cyclosportive last year was the longest).....but worryingly am a rubbish swimmer.

Am I insane to even contemplate trying for IM UK 2009 or does anyone think it is possible?

on a separate note....my job+commute takes up 13+ hours per day so training time is limited

any advice gratefully received

Comments

• Hi nottcl. I don't think you're insane at all. As you're already a strong runner and comfortable on a bike, you're in a pretty good position.

As I understand it, there's a two and a half hour cut-off time for the swim. So get in your local pool a couple of nights a week over the winter and start to build up. Everyone who competes in triathlon has stronger and weaker disciplines. Looks like you've got two strong ones already. You have the best part of a year to make your swimming a reasonable discipline. It can be done.

I'm toying with the idea of IM UK myself, with 2008 having been my first year in multisports. And everything I've read so far has suggested you should just worry about getting round the course and finishing. Forget about the time.

So think about it like this. The swim is the first stage. Get that out of the way and you're into familiar territory. The rest will be a piece of cake for you!!!

Your work/commute times sound similar to mine. Sucks doesn't it? But with a bit of lateral thinking, you can squeeze training time in there. It means getting up early and eating later than you'd want in the week, and no lie-ins at weekends. But the rewards are immense.

Best of luck, and keep your eye on the forum. I've only just joined, and have already gleaned stacks of useful information from it.