Home Chat General Chat

integrated hrm / bike compu system for triathlon

Hi all,

Just signed up because of a specific question I have: does anyone know of a heart rate monitor system out there that really combines all the needs of a triathlete? What I'm thinking of is a combination of wristwatch and bike computer that function together, so that you can wear the watch throughout but also have a monitor for on the bike that provides bike data but also heart rate data.

Or are we stuck with having to buy separate hrm and bike computer, and having to look at our wristwatch to get heart rate data during events? There must be a better solution. And if not, race you to the patent office...

Thanks,

Jaap

Comments

• I wanted the same functionality when I started training for my first Ironman back in 2006.

At the time there was a bit less choice and I opted for the Polar CS100CAD giving full wireless speed and cadence on the bike while the RS200SD gives full HRM with the addaition of the footpod to assess your speed and distance in training. At the time only the RS200SD came with the chest strap for HRM but was compatible with the CS100CAD and worked together fine. The same units are still available but I otice that the CS100 and CS100CAD both now come with the chest strap as well so you would be paying more but getting a spare.

Your going to be looking from about £140 to £180 depending on having cadence and the footpod but you would get £30 worth of spare chest unit. See links below.

Although I haven't looked into it Polar have changed their range quite a bit since then so there may be another alternative. Maybe drop them a line, they were quite helpfull when I contacted them:

http://www.polar.fi/

Polar CS100CAD bike computer with cadence ([color=#ff0000]now with HR [/color][color=#ff0000]unit[/color]).

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/p/Cycle/7/Polar_CS100cad_Wireless_HRM_Computer_With_Cadence/5360036968/

Polar RS200SD heart rate monitor with footpod.