Home Chat General Chat

Tri Bike or Road bike? ? ? ?

Hi,

I'm new to the wonderful sport of triathlon and loving it, done my first event and looking forward to improving my time in the oncoming season, however have some cycle questions for you all,

1. Which is faster a road bike or tri bike (over say a sprint distance event)?

I have recently bought a road bike and I'm now worried I've made the wrong investment.

2. Should I be standing up for riding my bike up hills or sitting down? anyone know which is faster? I'm assuming sitting down is more efficient energy wise.

3. Is there much difference in technique between a road bike racer and a triathlete??

If anyone can help would be much appreciated

cheers

Neil

Comments

• transittransit Posts: 163
    1. Generally I'd expect a tri bike to be quicker than a road bike. Maybe not on some hilly courses due to it compromising weight for aerodynamics but if it is not really hilly then the tri bike would be quicker. Depending on what distance tri you are going to do a road bike with clip on aero bars is possibly the better option for comfort. It is really useful for all rides too, it's no fun going on a group ride on a tri bike - in fact it can be dangerous.

2. On longer hills you're quite right, more efficient to sit down and therefore the right thing to do...unless, it's just a little roller that you know you can just carry your speed over and get back on flat/downhill. Can also be good to occasionally get out of the saddle to climb to take weight off your 'bits' and to stretch out a bit.

3. Your position on a tri bike is alot less comfortable due to aerodynamic nature. It means you are leant further over but also you are further over the bottom bracket. In terms of actual riding, triathletes might generally ride a slightly higher cadence, but not always.

er, sure there is loads more to add but that's my lot! Good luck[:D]