Home Chat General Chat

Early morning riding - bike lights question

Hello all, newbie here.

I've been bitten by the tri bug this year, haven done a couple of sprint tris and the Oulton Park duathlon last weekend (really liked that racetrack!).

Naturally, I'd like to improve a bit next year. The problem I have is finding the time to train enough, what with work and family etc.

One idea I've had is doing some early morning bike riding before work. Where I live I'm lucky that there's a long section of the National Cycle Network nearby, where I can do several miles of traffic-free cycling.

The problem is that it will obviously get darker earlier over the winter. There are no lights at all where I am looking at riding, it would be very dark indeed. Therefore I'd need lights that would actually let me see where I'm going, rather than just making me visible to traffic.

My question therefore is how much would I have to spend to get lights that would do the job? (Realistically, how little can I get away with spending!). Any recommendations?

If the answer is "a lot of money" then I'll have to have a rethink and ride on lit roads (taking my chances with the traffic) or just run instead in the darkest parts of winter and ride the bike when I can at weekends.

Many thanks.

Comments

• GHarvGHarv Posts: 456
    Turbo trainer?
  • JulesJules Posts: 987
    Yeah, that's an option, I'd just prefer actual real cycling outside, if I could.
  • GHarvGHarv Posts: 456
    Can't say i'm a lights expert but if you want to see where you're going i've got a great Petzl head torch (Tikka £24) that got me up Mount Kilimanjaro at midnight - might be one option.
  • electron 10+5w lamp set is what i use for riding cross country at nights in the winter. Last few hours. does the job.
  • puddlespuddles Posts: 37