Home Chat General Chat

What do you think???

Ok, here goes, I'm a new poster to the site having just registered. Have been doing tri's for past 2 years and am currently training for a marathon (next month). I have no background in any of the disciplines but have done 3 Olympic distance races and am planning for a Half IM later this year on a really tough course. My question is if it's reasonable for me to aspire to doing a Full IM nexy year with my times- I swim a mile in about 34 mins (open water with suit), I averaged 20mph on a very difficult Olympic course last year, and am predicting a sub 4 Marathon (just, I hope).

I know it's great to aspire to something, but in all honesty with these times over a vastly increased distance is it practical.

All advice appreciated.

Comments

• Of course it is, you are putting in the effort now even and with this coming season behind you then there will be nothing stopping you.

Importantly, keep your training up and most importantly keep injury free.

Look at the cut off times for all 3 disciplines and you will see how you relate to them.

Good luck and keep on triing.

Joe
  • GmcGmc Posts: 7
    Thanks Setanta, I'm a fellow Paddy but from the South, the half I'm planning is Kenmare and the Olympic I did is Kilkee, you might know these or even have done them.

I'm constanthly thinking about the cut off times and it seems manageable even at 40 min per mile pace for the swim and 14mph cycle would still leave you with 5/6 hours for marathon. It's just very hard to know what kind of stamina you'd need to build up. I'm quite disciplined re Training and have avoided injury (touch wood) in prep for the Marathon in Connemara next month.
  • There is a multitude of events this year as I 'm sure you have seen on the TI website. Have a go at some of them early on in the year or even stagger maybe 1 or 2 per month before the 1/2 Ironman.