Home Chat General Chat

Weight loss Vs Training

A little history of me: A rugby player by trade, recovering from a knee injury got me into triathlon, I play second row which will tell you enough about my general physical shape and size... I’m about 188cm and I currently weight around 110kg (not an ideal triathletes weight [;)]) I’ve entered a couple of Olympic Tris next year in June and August and I’m about to start training over the winter – obviously I need to lose weight but should I put weight loss as a priority over base training or just assume that training for the Tri will cause the weight loss I desire? On the flip side - dieting is an easy way, but how do I balance exercising lots with reducing my intake – I guess I’m hoping for a magical answer from people that doesn’t include putting a spreadsheet together to calculate calorie /protein/carb etc.. intakes What’s an ideal body fat % for Triathletes? This is what I’m working towards rather than specific weight... Scott

Comments

• Hi Scott,ideal body fat percentage for triathletes is between 5-12% well according to some websites...as to weather losing weight or training more is better though question i started training for tri's and actually put on weight and it wasn't from the extra muscle it was flab! then i lost some weight pre season and aimed to maintain my weight during competetive season.now that competitions are over i'm gonna try lose a little more weight so that i'll be extra fast naxt year.....
  • BritspinBritspin Posts: 1,655