Home Chat General Chat

Should you stretch before exercise?

[&:]Following a recent conversation with a sports scientist colleague I am seeking the opinion of others.

Their opinion was that if you perform static stretching exercises prior to a workout you can actually reduce your power output from those muscles. So, for example, if i was to perform a load of shoulder/arm/back stretches prior to swimming I would actually reduce my muscles ability to pull stronger during the swim stroke. This is because you strectch the muscle and it loses some of its elasticty and some of its contracting ability (or something like that. I am no scientist!)

Opinion would seem to be split amongst the experts. I think it is universally accepted that you should warm up, but do we stretch muscles or not? Any thoughts!

I have always been taught to warm and stretch as it helps to reduce injury.[:)]

Comments

• Well, the sports scientist has made a correct statement, and one which gels with the BTA official stance on stretching (having just completed a Level 1 coaching course, myself), when he or she says that static stretching can negatively impact on a muscle's performance before activity. However, it must be swiftly followed by saying that dynamic stretching is highly recommended (and, in BTA coaching courses, a required part of every session plan).

But, make no mistake, stretching before and after a work-out is a good thing, which both science and personal experience will bear out.

So, the distinction is between static and dynamic stretching. From the definition we were given on the course, static stretches are ones which last for more than 20 seconds, so think slow yoga classes or something where you hold a deep, long stretch for what would feel like a long time when you are stretching. Dynamic stretches are ones which last for a shorter duration (like, well, a "normal", sort of non-yoga stretch that doesn't feel like it lasts a super-long time, maybe 5-10 seconds).