Home Chat General Chat

Base / Heart Rate Training

I'm a hooked one season novice and am trying to get some base training in for next season. I came from a couch potato background last Christmas so this is my first off-season. I'm a bit confused with the heart rate zones thing. Every book or article I read uses different zones. I know the general idea is to go slow and long to get some Aerobic training in but I'm really confused at what heart rates:

I'm 36 and my max heart rate is 200 (It is - really!!)

I'm putting in my long runs at 75% - 85%.

For simplicity sake, say I use 80% - is this 80% of 200 which gives me 160 or should I use the formula:

80% of working heart rate + resting HR

where working HR = max HR - resting HR.

This gives me 172.

So should I use 160 or 172?

Also, on the bike I can only get my HR up to about 135-140 before my legs are burning. I suspect this is because I have really weedy legs and need to get their strength up!

I'm also doing a few tempo (fast) and interval sessions to mix it up!

Last thing! - It's normal to always want a new bike right!!

Comments

• I'm the same. First year and hooked!

You wouldn't believe the time I waste online oggeling bikes these days! Focus, PlanetX.... dribble.....

Anyway, the way I understand it is, for you:

Zone 1 recovery (50-60%) = 100-120bpm

Zone 2 cardio (60-70%) = 120-140bpm

Zone 3 aerobic (70-80%) = 140-160bpm

Zone 4 anerobic (80-90%) = 160-180bpm

Zone 5 max (90-100%) = 180-200bpm
  • Jack HughesJack Hughes Posts: 1,262
    A good site with some simple to use forms to drive the formulae is

http://www.runningforfitness.org/

Cycling uses less of your muscles (only the lower body if you are doing it right ;-), so you tend to have a lower max heart rate when doing that exercise than you would for something which incorporates much more of the muscle groups, such as running.

Generally speaking, to find your MHR: