Home Chat General Chat

Complete beginner - need IRONMAN advice pls..!

Hi

When I say complete beginner, that's not totally true. I've been involved in fitness full time for the last 10 years, have done a few marathons, and also compete in bodybuilding shows. So general fitness isn't a problem. Discipline and motivation for training aren't a problem either - but knowing what to do in terms of time and intensity are. I also have no stuff.... I don't even own a bike at the minute.

I did go to IMUK this year - which is quite a drive from Leeds! I was there doing my research for next year - working out if I really think I could do it. I've thought about it a lot, and have put some time in swimming and running and now its time to take it a bit more seriously.

[ul][*]I need a bike. Don't know anything about them, and don't want to be ripped off. People I know have told me its cheaper to buy on the internet - but I have no idea what to buy. Looked at a few, and not sure what any of it really means....

[*]I have a couple of wetsuits (long and short) from days of wakeboarding etc - are these ok for an ironman or is there a different type?

[*]Do I need to train each disclipline each day? Swim/bike/run? Do I need to do them in any specific order? Do I need to train proportionate distances?

[*]I have never swam in a lake - easier or harder than a pool? Or just colder?

[*]How many hours training a day do I need to do? [/ul]

I was also thinking of popping along to a tri club - looked a few up and there is one close to me. I'm a bit worried that I'll be the worst there - especially if I turn up in all shiny new stuff..... All the gear, no idea etc etc. Does anyone go to one in Leeds / Bradford / Pugneys? It would be nice to meet a friendly face on my first visit?