Home Chat General Chat

Thinking of trying a triathlon

Newbie here - new to exercise and new to the site - so please be gentle ;)

Bit of background - 34 yrs old - male - not exercised since I was 14 - smoker :( - not exactly overweight at 75kg for 5'7" tall (was 80 plus kilos 6 months back.

Started cycling in August - nearly died of exhaustion after 200 yards .. now doing 10 miles every other night and 10 to 15 mile ride on a Sunday - covered 450 miles since I started cycling again.

Decided to try running about 6 weeks ago .. not the easiest thing to do but am now running every other night about 1.5 miles in 11.5 mins - thats about my limit at the moment but each week am increasing the distance by 1/4 of a mile (I find it difficult to run any slower or faster or longer - so am just trying to get the distance up slowly at the speed I run)

Not started swimming yet but looking into it at the moment - used to be a good swimmer in my early teens but the only swimming I have done in recent years is on Holiday in the sea.

My main aims at the moment is to get fit, loose a bit of weight, stop smoking and try my first triathlon in 2009 (Also maybe sign up for the Mazda London Sprint Tri).

Sorry for the long post but thought I would put my details down and see what comments or suggestions people might make. Great site you have here with lots of good info

Comments

• bennybenny Posts: 1,314
    GO FOR IT!

Up the bike distance and run as you go by; aerobic base is vital.

Start swimming, swimming is very technical:you'll improve a lot by getting coached sessions that focus on technique,not by pulling out lenght after lenght(you can keep that for later[;)]).

Stop smoking would help you a lot[image]http://forum.220magazine.com/micons/m8.gif[/image]. (not patronising, talking out of own experience[:)]).

Train consistent, not 2 heavy weeks and then shattered for a week.

Rest enough and eat healthier.

Just a few thoughts,