Home Chat General Chat

How much faster will a £1000 bike be than a £300 bike?? Is it worth it for a Novice?

I have finally saved enough to purchase a “decent” bike - £1000, but I’m now having doubts as to whether to spend it or just to purchase a cheap entry level bike, my doubts do come largely from the wife...... who doesn’t think I will really get the benefits of the extra monies spent...

Here are my circumstances and reasons:-

I’m a novice riding a 20yr old Raleigh with 12gears (on the down tube)..

I have entered a couple of Oly tri’s and am thinking of a middle distance race in September.

I want to upgrade to a bike with a triple chain set so I can tackle all terrain..

I weight in excess of 110kg therefore bike weight is not important (unless I’m wrong??) simply because I weight so much. The fitter and leaner I get the fast I should get anyway..

What are the advantages a carbon framed bike with decent groupset and wheels give me over an entry level bike? Specifically to the performance of a novice

Having ridden such a old/backwards bike so far, any new bike will seem more efficient..

My thoughts might be buy a cheap entry level bike this year and if I enjoy Tri’s and actually complete the middle distance race at the end of the season, then next year invest more(£1k+) in a even better bike...

I should also confess up that I’m not always the most diligent with maintenance, this would have to change of course..

Bike envy?? Even the hybrids look good...

Scott

Comments

• BritspinBritspin Posts: 1,655
    There are many & varied threads on here that address your very question, however simply put £1,000 will buy you a bike you will not want or need to replace or upgrade for a little while, whereas £300 will have you spending another £1000 within 12 months or so, you may not get full 'performance' out of it now, but as your fitness improves, so will it..so to speak. So I would go with £1000 now & look after it!
  • treefrogtreefrog Posts: 1,242