Home Chat General Chat

Tubulars before a race

Hi Every one,

Im new to Tubular tyres, and ive got a question about them before you do a race.

In training up to an event they are glued on. Should you remove the glue and tape

them on before a race?? (for the ease of removing if you get a puncture!) or have

them glued on for the race?? I do understand that the tape is not as safe as glue

at high speed or corners.

Thank you

Comments

• julesojuleso Posts: 279
    I believe - use tubulars, get puncture, walk back to the start, dejected, in the rain.
  • treefrogtreefrog Posts: 1,242
    The old clincher/tubular debate which inevitably leads to the glue tape debate!

To be honest clinchers are a safer bet despite the small weight (and performance?) penalty. I now see tubulars as only being feasible in a cycling event where there are spare wheels available, as what Juleso is the cold truth!

However how often do you puncture? And when you do - you're dead as far as winning is concerned.

If you agree with this then glue them on - its much safer and if you do pucture walk home and live to fight another day...?
  • agent_tiagent_ti Posts: 306
    I was always told to use rim tape, and leave about an inch off opposite the tyre valve hole so you can actually get a tyre off i you puncture. Theoretically this is just as safe as glue unless youre descending on the alps tour de france style. Couple of guys i know who have tubs do this and havent heard any horror stories, has anyone?

Guess you could glue the tyre and leave an inch glue-less, just the same im guessing but a bit more secure??
  • Thanks for the advise.... i know there is big debate between clinchers and tubs, and both have pro's & con's.

I guess i'll give it a few months trial then make my mind up. Thanks again