Home Chat General Chat

Tumble Turns!

hay welcome to the world of triathloning

i am pretty new to this to but i would say per length i gain around 3 or 4 meters when tumbling as it just saves so much time! if you are doing 600-800 meters your talking around 30 - 50 meters saved by doing tumble turns so my advice would be to do them if you can and if not practice makes perfect!!

also during a sprint race depending on the size of cource the lanes may be a bit congested. however swimmers are normally sent off in speed related groups so there shouldnt be too much overtaking! also they are sent of at intervals which also helps!!

hope this is usefull

Clare

Comments

• Hello world!

This is a quicky......when doing pool swim tri's, how many of you do tumble turns, how long will it take me to master them and how much time do they save you per turn?

And....... because i've never done a triathlon before, what can i expect in the pool in terms of traffic?

Love to hear from you all...

Gary
  • JulesJules Posts: 987
    Check the race(s) you are entered for allow tumble turns, some don't.
  • bennybenny Posts: 1,314
    Jules is correct, lots of races dont allowit, so you get DSQ on the end ranking. I bet that is not much fun. Check it before race start at the briefing.
  • BlinkybazBlinkybaz Posts: 1,144
    Welcome to the only TRI forum that counts!!!

Benny and jules are right, tumble turns aren't always aloud.

It seems open turns are the way. You need to master the push off from wall after open turning.

I find it hard to get right and boy it looks odd but need must. Seems like you push off in sideways position.
  • JulesJules Posts: 987