Home Chat General Chat

Swim - Breathing out through nose?

Hi Folks

Hope the training is going well! I wanted to ask you all about breathing out through your nose when swimming (FC). I noticed while watching a swimming video (Becoming a faster swimmer - Tom Jager) that Tom breaths out through his nose, i did try this yesterday but ended up getting a lung full of water!

Who does? Who doesn't? And why?

I look forward to hearing from you....... ;)

Comments

• Swimming is my weakest discipline and I'm no expert but I can't expel the air quick enough through my nose so I'm a mouth only FC'er. (I generally breath every stroke on the same side so I've less time to complete the breathing process than others)

I think it's one of those things that you should do what suits you rather than aspiring to a pro swimmer.

I've a great clip of Grant Hackett in full flow but I still swim more like Jim Hackett regardless of the time I spend studying it[:(]
  • agent_tiagent_ti Posts: 306
    The main reason for breathing out through your nose is so that your lungs are empty when you come to take a breath, and you dont spend the first part when you should be breathing in, getting rid of used air in your lungs, so you can inhale more oxygen. It is well worth trying to practise this and get it right, because you will find you will be able to take more air in an so be able to swim harder. Just remember to breath in when your mouth is out of the water!
  • hi gary

i tend to vary between breating out of my nose and mouth underwater so that when i surface i just have to take a quick breath in...

though thats how everyone breathes??
  • woodywoody Posts: 52