Home Chat General Chat

London vs Windsor time comparison

Hi,

As a newbie I was wondering if anyone could offer me advice on how London Oly times compare with Windsor, if they have done both races.

Im asking cos London 2008 was my first Oly distance and I managed a 2:20 with much huffing and puffing. But loads of people have said how long the transitions are at London. Excel was massive, and I found my T1 was in the mid 3min and T2 was mid 1min. Windsor cant be any slower can it??

So Im really trying to figure out what time to aim for at Windsor, having the river current, being more hilly but with hopefully faster transitions.

Thanks!

Comments

• BARNYBARNY Posts: 157
    Windsor is harder... just becuase of a slower bike, the river current makes little difference, and the run is similar to london but iwth a slightly worser hill in front of the castle. I think you should aim for <2:30
  • BmanBman Posts: 442
    Thanks Barny, and whats the transition area like? It cant be as big as London, can it? Unless its quite a long run from the river?
  • abrewerabrewer Posts: 41
    I seem to remember there is quite a run from the swim to T1. I think the bike may be 42k as well.

I tend to look at the winners times and scale up from there......
  • I've done both and I think that Windsor is comfortably slower than London.

The swim current does make a difference (my time was 5 mins slower than normal), though you could help this slightly by taking the best line - i.e. staying close to the bank until you are level with the turn buoy, rather than trying to swim up the middle of the river for the last 100m. Even so, London is a fast swim and you would be lucky to manage the Windsor swim any less than 3 mins more than your London time.