Home Chat General Chat

Swim, Run, Bike

Hello all,

Short time reader, first time poster.

I'm very new to triathlon. I've signed up for a couple of sprints and an olympic this year. I know the 'correct' or historic order of a tri is Swim-Bike-Run however this order makes little sense to me. I think it makes more sense from a progression of speed and a simpler transition point of view to go Swim-Run-Bike.

It would be interesting to see if any of you seasoned competitors agree with my logic but regardless of that I was mainly wondering if anyone knows of any tri's that are swim-run-bike. I can't find any via google.

On a slightly unrelated topic, does anyone know of any night-time tri's? I think it would be pretty cool swimming and cycling in the dark and the run would be less painful (for me) if the finishing line was the doorway of a bar.

Thanks,

Dan

Comments

• HarryDHarryD Posts: 425
    I understand that when the French military invented triathlon it was run, bike swim. As in run away from Gerry, jump on first bike you come to and pedal like biily-o to the coast and swim chanel to the safety of dear old blighty.

It was probably the Yanks on Kona who came up with swim, bike run.

It has probably stuck because of risk minimisation. Risks of collapse of siezing up with cramp generally increase with tiredness. Think what the consequences would be in water, balanced on a bike or running along. None would be painless but would decrease from highest in water to bike to lowest on the run. Yes, people still occassonally die during the swim unfortunately but try giving CPR in water and as for using a defibrillator forget it. You have to get the casualty out first.

From an organisers point of view pursuading the local kayak club to help of for an hour at the start of a race when most are close together is a lot easier than asking for 3 or 4 hours coverage between the leaders entering the water and those further back who are happy to finish.