Home Chat General Chat

Windsor Triathlon

HAs anyone done this before ?

If so I wanted to know what the bike-leg was like (olympic distance)

Hills or Flat ??

Cheers all

Comments

• pacrfishpacrfish Posts: 266
    If it's the same as last year then the bike is gently undulating/flat - good fast course. Drafting (or rather avoiding it) is a problem at some points. Don't worry about all the traffic lights - there will be police letting you through.

Have fun!
  • RewRew Posts: 62
    how's the swim at Windsor?

I've done a few lake/dock swims but this is my first time at this event.
  • plingbootplingboot Posts: 19
    windsor swim…

swans are much bigger when you're in the water with them.

swan poo and other floating lovelies aren't very nice - save the drinking to the bike leg.

the 'fight' at the start isn't very nice.

the exit is a bit narrow - and i made an arse of it last year.

but at least you'll have some stories to tell the nurse.

My tone is based on the fact that i'm a bit nervous about sunday, based on last years experience.

thanks for all your advice. you've really settled the nerves I did have.

Which wave are you in? I'm off at 7.35
  • PC67PC67 Posts: 101
    I'll see you at 7.37am so. I'm in the 7.30am wave.

First proper attempt at a full triathlon (did Dublin in well over 3 hours in 1998, thinking my football fitness would be enough! Wrong.).

Really looking forward to it. If I can do 2 hrs 45 I'll be thrilled, 2 hrs 50 happy, slower than that I can at least be pleased that I finished (fingers crossed).

Dreading the swim as I only managed about 1200m last week in a 60m Lido in London, though stopping isn't an option on Sunday I suppose.
    Enjoyed it immensely.

Did 2:53 which was slower than I'd hoped for, but the heat was something I hadn't bargained for.

Swam in 34 mins which I was pretty pleased with though if I trained properly I'm sure there's a few minutes I can knock off.