Home Chat General Chat

Carb loading for Marathon

Just recently I have been reading up on carb loading for endurance running. I am a newbie to Tri so this winter I have decided to enter the Paris marathon in April 09 as a good way of establishing a decent training base.

Having now completed several half marathons etc on this trip, I have decided to look into my nutritional requirements for the race, one subject that keeps rearing its head is 'Carb loading'. Can someone please let me know what is the best method to carb load prior to an event?

Currently I am taking gel shots on the run and tend to have a carb shake prior, but wanted to know that my body was sufficiently full to avoid hitting the wall. - Any advise would be appreciated! Thanks all!!!

Comments

• Please some advise would go along way here - I appreciate my request is all a little garbled but hearing the opinion of people have gone through this Carb loading effort would be invaluable!

Cheers

Dave
  • BlinkybazBlinkybaz Posts: 1,144
    Its mostly about complex carbs. Pasta is ideal. You need to balnca your protein intake with the carbs, I dont know the whole ins and outs and have not done it for a marathon but a colleague of mine has and we discussed alot. You will need to be building up your carb intake as you train so that its not just chucked in at the end of the traing as the marathon looms. Dont forget to buiuld up your water reserves as well. Akk those carbs wont help we you are dehydrated.

good luck
  • EdstgEdstg Posts: 83