Home Chat General Chat

Advice please- locks/security

As a newbie I am in the process of buying bits of gear that I will need. Haven't got a bike yet, but looking at some this weekend so hoping to be up and cycling next week.

I want to be able to lock my bike up at local pool to enable me to do a brick session (cycle to pool, swim, cycle home).

What locks do you use/recommend that are not too heavy and will not scratch my frame and what is the most secure way of using the lock- through rear wheel and frame??

Are there any other security measures I should take?

Comments

• Just a note to say i too need a lock, have seen what look to be v.good ones on cyclestore.co.uk but look very heavy etc. Any advice from you seasoned experts would be very much appreciated.
  • agent_tiagent_ti Posts: 306
    Most companies recommend you spend 10% of your bikes value on the lock. It may seem like a lot, but its cheaper than replacing the bike if it gets nicked!

In terms of locks, go for a D-lock, these are by far the best (barring the very expensive chains locks) and are relatively easy to carry around and act as the best deterrent. I tend to lock my bike through the down tube and front wheel and then use a bendy lock to lock the back wheel to the frame (more as a deterrent). If you are really worried, then get 2 D-locks and use them for both wheels.
  • Thanks for your replies- I keep seeing kryptonite locks when searching. I had been looking at this option, seems a good price from ribble. My bike will be second hand, no more than £300 to start with. Will this do the job?

http://www.ribblecycles.co.uk/productdetail.asp?productcatalogue=KRYPLOCK360000000000

Only problem is I will probbly end up filling up the basket to £50 with other stuff i'll convince myself i need to get the 10% off and free P&P [:D]

• BopomofoBopomofo Posts: 980
    As a newbie I am in the process of buying bits of gear that I will need