Home Chat General Chat

Entry level, but decent road bike?

I am not doing the triathalon, and I am not from the UK, but I came across this forum in search of information on Raleigh Road Bikes (and general info). I am in need of some help in finding a decent, affordable (and by that I mean extremely inexpensive) roadbike to begin working towards long charity rides. I am a complete beginner, no prior knowledge of cycling and no idea what I am doing. All I know is that I want to do this :)

I have been looking at a couple of used bikes (my budget is about $130 CAD, not much, I know) and I need some suggestions/input. I fear local shops, as I don't have the money to spend in their stores. I have been frequenting the following sites in search of something used... I am from Victoria, British Columbia in Canada...

craigslist.com (for Victoria, Vancouver, Nanaimo BC)

Usedvictoria.com

Usednanaimo.com

I am a student who wants to begin charity rides, so unfortunately I don't have a really nice bike in my future as of yet.

Any help would be so greatly appreciated. If you send me an e-mail at [email=rideforcancer@rocketmail.com]rideforcancer@rocketmail.com[/email] I can send you specific models if you are willing to help.

THANKS!

Heather

Comments

• hi there heather,

welcome to the forum. It seams to me that you are neglecting the one place that can probably help you the most, your local bike shop....

After all the people that buy from them are most likley to be selling a cheap second hand one, also the shop may let you place an advertisement in the window and can advice you on what would or wouldn't be a good one to pick up,and if its for charity they more likley to help than not, besides the people that work in there have done a bike ride for charity themselves and can simpathise.

swallow that pride of yours and bite the bullet, what the worst that can happen?

Sorry if i jabberd on ive had way to much caffine today!!!

Thats why im still up @1.00am