Home Chat General Chat

Hi all,

I'm new to the forum, and quite new to triathlon. I did my first race last May and have competed in 5 races since. I'm totally addicted and now want to keep going for as long as my poor old body will hold out - I'm no spring chicken. Health problems last year stopped me from doing any Olympic distances - all my races have been sprints so far, but I'm hoping to finally get to do the standard distance a few times this season, training is going well at last. I came third in my category at Brighton last year - so I'm motivated to do better this year!

Hoping to get some tips from the forum, it's been really useful whilst I've been a lurker.

Thanks

blurredgirl

Comments

• BlinkybazBlinkybaz Posts: 1,144
    Welcome to the fold!

Sounds like you could chip in with some tips yourself.

3rd at brighton sounds like a motovator to me. i just want to finish.
  • Hi Blurredgirl

Congratulations for last season, sounds like you're a natural. I'm a newbie myself having never competed but with plans to do 5-6 races this year....first one in 10 weeks or so. I have a newbie type question...

....what are the categories? I have heard the term age-groupers, i guess there are age categories, if so what are they and are there any other categories?
  • BritspinBritspin Posts: 1,655
    The BT website prob has age categories on it somewhere..me I'm in the Old B*****ds group, having moved up from the old enough to know better group.
  • is there a group for "Those with a knackered old carcus" ???
  • BopomofoBopomofo Posts: 980
    Age groups are defined as follows (with official category descriptions):

15-19: "Over-talented little sh*ts"

20-24: "Prime of life"

25-29: "Still going"

30-34: "I used to be sporty when I was younger"

35-39: "Oh no, I'm nearly 40... time to prove I'm not dead yet"

40-44: "Mid-life crisis but can't afford a sports car so spent too much money on a bike instead"

45-49: "Mid-life crisis is worse than I thought"