Home Chat General Chat

Running problems

Hi hbiker108

I am no expert, there are lots of other regular contributors on here that will be able to help you more than i, but i will share with you my running experience at the moment.

I can run 10k at a stead 6mph, my heart rate is 170bpm for the entire time and i DONT find it easy. My legs are the problem, not my breathing, because i am not panting or gasping for breath during my running, in fact i can run at this pace with my mouth closed for a while without a problem.

I'm guessing my running fitness is poor which causes my heart to work harder, which eventually causes the muscles in my legs to fade due to the lack of quality blood/oxygen being delivered by my heart! This is all guesswork!

So, if you try to apply this, your heart is not working very hard at all, but your legs hurt - so i guess this is not muscle pain, probably knee or joint issues. What cadence are you running at (how many times does your right foot hit the ground during a timed minute). If this is too slow you could be making life more difficult that you need to. You could speed up your cadence (to about 80) and possibly even speed up the run a little. P.S. how tall are you, what is your inside leg?

Comments

• Hi all

Writing for a bit of advice really. Been doing tri now for a year and about to start my second season. Only been doing Sprint so advancing upto Olympic for this year. My running is a problem. I only run really slow - and i mean really slow (4.5mph) I can only run about 45mins and my legs hurt. They ache and are really tired yet my Heart Rate is only 120ish. Shouldnt my heart be going faster? If i try and make it go faster my poor legs cant last out - what should i do???
  • jacjac Posts: 452
    What time and distances were you running when training for a sprint?

It may be that you've increased the time and mileage in your legs too soon..ie running from 20-25 mins, you've upped it to 45 mins.