Home Chat General Chat

Bike for £300

Hi,

Tri virgin here so be gentle! [:)]

I know you experienced guys would have seen hundreds of the "I am new to tri please help me...." type posts but....

I have recently lost 13st and have set my target to become a Tri-athlete. Training going well so far feeling better than ever. I am doing my first sprint tri at Rother Valley in June (set myself a top 50 finish as a target)

I have no equipment (apart from a trail/hybred bike which I use to cycle to work)

I figure my best investment (after a pair of trainiers - gone for Saucony) is a bike. What should I go for in the £300ish range. Considering a Giant OCR 3, what do we all think? I will have to do for commuting and Training and Racing....

Any other advice would be greatfully recieved.

Comments

• graham33graham33 Posts: 265
    Welcome to the forum, and well done for loosing so much weight! - makes my 1 stone look rubbish!

I bought the Giant SCR3 last year and it's a great bike with no problems at all for me. That trouble is the bike envy come and you start upgrading.....

But for £300 you won't get much more - also consider the carrea range from Halfords.

Another thing to think about is the TRI UK packages : http://triuk.com/web/index.php/Triathlon-Packages/TRIATHLON-BIKE-PACKAGE-1/flypage-ask.tpl.html

£574 but it'll include pretty much everything you need and you do save a fair bit of money. I just bought my bike from there and they are pretty knowledgable and helpful.

Good luck!
  • BopomofoBopomofo Posts: 980
    I have recently lost 13st and have set my target to become a Tri-athlete.

Bloody hell... where's the "We are not worthy" smiley? You win before you have even crossed the start line.[8D]