Home Chat General Chat

Newbie saying Hi.....Hi!!!!

Hi Jason, welcome the wonderful 'expensive/tiring/fun/addictive' world of triathlon!

4 months is more than enough time - that's what I did last year.

Swimming - My instructor told me to improve then swim 3 times a week - and I have noticed a massive improvement. (lots on the forums about swimming).

I would say on running and cycling try to build slowly, the worst thing is to get an injury because your tendons and joints take a little longer to adapt to the exercise than your muscles do.

But keep going and check in on the forum - it's a great motivator!

Good luck

Graham

Comments

• Hello all,

I am new to this thing they call Triathlon. I have just signed up with some friends to do the Henley on Thames Sprint Triathlonon the 21st June 2009. I have a small level of fitness, so am hoping that 4 months is enough time to prepare, although my main goal is just to complete it.

At the moment I am able to do 10 lengths of a 25 mtr pool in about 25 mins....I know that is not quick but that was my first swim on a good few years...i'd actually forgot how tiring it was :)

I am running 5 miles in 40 mins (i'm a big guy and my shins don't like it), however although I am doing well on the bike at the moment I havn't timed myself.

I am really looking forward to it and hope to get some great advice form you hardened Tri-Athletes.
  • BopomofoBopomofo Posts: 980
    Welcome indeed. Plenty of time to make sure you finish and do yourself proud.

I'd also suggest 3 swims per week. Don't worry about how many lengths you can do in one go... just work on the total volume per session. If you're doing ten lengths now then maybe try to aim at 10 lots of 2 lengths with a timed rest. Keep working hard, but there's no point killing yourself.

You've got plenty of time to find an improvers class, get a couple of 1-1 coaching sessions (or share a coach with a few friends) or go along to the swimming club a few times.