Home Chat General Chat

Clip Shoes - Help

I am a newbie but want to ride with clip pedals and shoes. My birthday is coming up, so will ask for some shoes and pedals. I have seen some nice flatish Shimano SPD Pedals and have found shoes. Do i need to by the cleats on their own, do i need fixed our floats.....please help.

Comments

• TommiTriTommiTri Posts: 879
    cleats will come with the pedals, they will be floats, giving you a small degree of movement. This is what you want, fixed cleats can really damage your knees badly if they are fixed even a mm out of place and cause your leg to track abnormally. If you get shimano I think they will be orange, and grey if you get looks.
  • BlinkybazBlinkybaz Posts: 1,144
    Hey JasonCull

All good questions!

Try searching for Cycle shoes and Pedals..Pedals...pedals on this forum. Loads of info in there.
    sort of yes moonshine, but they are easily clipped out by flicking your heel out. It takes a bit of getting used to though!
  • scuse the ignorance but are your feet actually stuck to the pedals

Yes. There's a metal lump on the bottom of the shoe - the "cleat" - and this fits into a mechanism in the pedal, with a kind of catch (with a spring).

To engage, you just push the cleat down into the mechanism. The catch then holds it in place so the pedal is firmly fastened to the shoe. At first it can take a bit of practice since you can't see the top of the pedal or the underside of your foot whilst you're doing it; but it very soon becomes second nature - just put your shoe down on the pedal, and it'll lock in place.

To disengage, you rotate your foot sideways in a particular way. Again, it'll take a bit of practice, but it'll soon become second nature.