Home Chat General Chat

Swim crisis

WellaWella Posts: 188
Two weeks to go until my first triathlon and on Wednesday I decided to do a time trial for my swim, 400m sprint distance.

Half way through my body just gave up and I ended up stopping and doing a few intervals instead. Face down in the water and all I could think was "I can't do the distance".

Thing is I've completed the distance loads of times, even shaving 2 1/2 mins of my swim time since I started training. In the last few weeks my training has focussed on technique rather than endurance. Could this be the cause?

Anyone else have experience of this? Any advice appreciated.

Comments

• jazdogjazdog Posts: 223
    Hi Wella,

Sounds to me like you started off too quick. The important thing with any endurance swim is to pace yourself. If you've done the distance before and kept on training (even if only 100's and 200's) then you should still be able to do it.

For confidence... go out and do it really slow (slower than you think you'll go in the race.) In the same session go and do 4X100 with 10 secs rest in between each (at slightly faster than race pace). If you can do this you will manage the race. Its just a matter of finding your pace. Use the pace clock in the pool as a guide (if you can see it when you turn to breathe!)

Hope this helps but just believe you can do it and you'll do great!

Kev
  • WellaWella Posts: 188
    Cheers Jaz.

It just caught me by surprise, I hope it was just an off day.

Swim session in the diary for tomrrow morning so I'll try your plan.

Wella
  • madnursemadnurse Posts: 782
    Hi Sam - don't worry mate ... sounds more a like a mental block than a lack of ability which is now playing on your mind placing doubt upon you race in a few weeks. I have done it before as I am sure many others will have done ...its just a case of breaking that block and tapping back into your ability to give you the inner confidence that you can & will complete your sprint swim.