Home Chat General Chat

New to Tri - any advice re training?

Hi there

I am hoping to register for my first Tri, I am a runner and a very good swimmer and have competed at both before, but now I want to try TRI.

So i wouldnt class myself as a complete beginner as I know some people would enter tri having not ran or swam before but I have.. however I am aware I now need to put all 3 disciplines together.. so.. any advice anyone?

I have 10 weeks til the tri I want to train for..

1. is that too soon or dya think I could manage it [X(]

2. I will be using a mountain bike, with slick tyres- am sure this is ok- yeah?

3. any tips for my training? eg: train more on bike to start with as is my least done activity?

anything else? I am hoping someone can help me, I really want to do this, a personal goal, just dont want to fall flat on my face or bite off more than I can chew..

if you want to know more about me/fitness etc please ask, I really dont know what to put on here for now

cheers

[8|]

Comments

• Go for it! Sounds like you got a great base so 10 weeks is plenty, unless you're doing an ironman... you're not doing an ironman are you?

Training advice? I'm not the person to ask, as I'm generally one of the askers, but there's been hundreds of great contributions from the experts who frequent this site. The search area is really useful, if you type 'training plan' in there or any combination of tri-related words chances are you'll find a decent answer.

You'll also find lots of references to red, carbon, porridge and soreen.
  • Error whilst Doing a Replacement, Error in srv_convert.
  • BexHBexH Posts: 226
    Not my thread but there were some really good tips in there thanks- the whole transition bit is the most nervewracking bit I reckon so little things like the talc etc are really helpful. Thanks!
  • deeessdeeess Posts: 150
    gomiboy - great post - thanks
  • @ gomiboy